Contributors & Sponsors - Privacy policyBodmin Team - Cornish Celtic Way - Contacts 

Disclaimer – Errors and omissions excepted (E&OE)

FAMILIES

Cornwall at home

Cornwall Live launches Stay In as social distancing continues. They are focusing attention on ways to help you stay entertained at home - from the best film and TV recommendations to live streamed gigs and theatre shows you can watch from your sofa.

Follow them on FaceBook 

https://www.facebook.com/whatsoncornwall

From fitness routines you can do at home to cookery tips to help you make the most of a limited larder, they will be bringing you daily ideas to help you get through the lockdown.

They will also continue to champion local businesses by showing you alternative ways we can all support our local restaurants, bars and venues during this difficult time.

 

Indoor activity ideas

The Scouts have pulled together some inspired indoor activity ideas. Keep your kids learning new skills and having fun and avoid hearing ‘I’m bored’ every 30 seconds

https://www.scouts.org.uk/the-great-indoors

 

Children at home

In the weeks ahead, children will be at home and families will need support with keeping them entertained, perhaps learning at home.  There are lots of online resources to help this and they are listed below - just scroll down.​

 

New for spring & Easter

Heligan have created some Easter crafts for you to download and enjoy with your family:

How to get the most from your outdoor space – even if that's just a windowsill – simple activities to get away from those screens, or a super easy way to help your kids understand science, the EDEN collection of free online resources is set to bloom this spring.

 

P.E. with Joe!

The Body Coach is running physical exercise sessions every day on YouTube for free.https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCAxW1XT0iEJo0TYlRfn6rYQ

 

Exercise is an amazing tool to help us feel happier, more energised, and more optimistic. The workouts are fun and suitable for all ages and even adults can get involved.

 

DK Find Out - https://www.dkfindout.com

Activities and quizzes

Futurelearn - https://www.futurelearn.com

Free to access 100s of courses, only pay to upgrade if you need a certificate in your name (own account from age 14+ but younger learners can use a parent account).

Blockly - https://blockly.games

Learn computer programming skills - fun and free.

Scratch - https://scratch.mit.edu/explore/projects/games/

Creative computer programming

Software Cornwall - https://www.softwarecornwall.org/free-coding-resources/

A list of computer science resources which are free, fun and creative for you and your children.

 

National Geographic Kids - https://www.natgeokids.com/uk/

Activities and quizzes for younger kids.

Mystery Science - https://mysteryscience.com

Free science lessons

The Kids Should See This - https://thekidshouldseethis.com

Wide range of cool educational videos

Crash Course Kids - https://youtube.com/user/crashcoursekids

YouTube videos on a wide range of subjects for a younger audience

Crest Awards - https://www.crestawards.org

Science awards you can complete from home.

Paw Print Badges - https://www.pawprintbadges.co.uk

Free challenge packs and other downloads. Many activities can be completed indoors. Badges cost but are optional.

Tinkercad - https://www.tinkercad.com

All kinds of making.

Cbeebies Radio - https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/radio

Listening activities for the younger ones.

Nature Detectives - https://naturedetectives.woodlandtrust.org.uk/naturedetect…/

A lot of these can be done in a garden, or if you can get to a remote forest location!

Oxford Owl for Home - https://www.oxfordowl.co.uk/for-home/

Lots of free resources for Primary age

Geography Games - https://world-geography-games.com/world.html

Geography gaming!

Blue Peter Badges - https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbbc/joinin/about-blue-peter-badges

If you have a stamp and a nearby post box.

FREE Printable Worksheetshttps://www.worksheetfun.com/  

FREE Printable Worksheets for Preschool, Kindergarten, 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th & 5th Grade.

The Artful Parent - https://www.facebook.com/artfulparent/

 

Good, free art activities linked to from this Facebook page

Red Ted Art - https://www.redtedart.com

Easy arts and crafts for little ones

The Imagination Tree - https://theimaginationtree.com

Creative art and craft activities for the very youngest.

Toy Theater - https://toytheater.com/

Educational online games

Twinkl - https://www.twinkl.co.uk

Print-outs, offering a month of free access to parents in the event of school closures.